True Expression

Yesterday’s prompt for daily shoot was to take a picture of two complementary objects, one big and one small.

When I first started to think about this assignment my original thought was to take a picture of my study Bible and pocket Bible side by side. But then I started to think about what it really means for something to be complementary. To me, to complement means to make whole or to complete. (Jerry McGuire “You complete me” anybody?) And then I started to think of objects that make each other whole. The best example I could come up with was that of a pen and paper. A pen has no purpose unless it has something on which it can be used to write. And paper is just pressed tree pulp when nothing is on it. But use a pen to write on a piece of paper and the possibilities are endless.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to True Expression

  1. Jenn says:

    I like this picture! Mostly cuz it isn’t a picture of 2 objects somewhat related, but rather one needs to the other to function. Plus it is a great picture πŸ™‚

  2. Jim says:

    I like the way the pen seems to cut off the text. Can’t remember the last time I had a page of freshly hand written text in front of me.

  3. Kevin says:

    I really like the dichotomy between expressed thought, and blank slate, divided by the pen. Really symbolic about knowledge.

Leave a Reply

