Bangladeshi Boat Bridge

I found this picture of the floating bridge on MSNBC’s Photoblog and thought it was beautiful. The way the boats snake through the water hyacinth which are covering the river originally caught my eye. And then I started to look at each person walking across that bridge and saw a new story in each face. I like that this picture isn’t focused on one person and you can’t quite read each face but you have to look at everything together. For a brief moment in time the lives of each person on that bridge cross and this picture captures that exact moment. It’s pretty neat to think about.

I also really enjoyed the entire concept of the photoblog. The idea of getting news through pictures is pretty powerful. There are a bunch of awesome images on that site and I suggest checking it out. If I blogged about every image that stuck out to me, this post would never end, but here are a few other favorites:

And I could go on, but I’ll let you explore for yourself!

This entry was posted in Assignments and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bangladeshi Boat Bridge

  1. Jenn says:

    All I have to say for the shot of the boat bridge is wow…. there is so much to look at, and you are right there is a different story represented in each face.
    I agree that getting news through images is definitely more powerful than just read about it, somehow it strikes a different cord.
    It even shows in history, because when newspapers began using photography more and more around the turn of the 20th century, journalists really used it as a way to gain awareness for working conditions in the industrial cities. http://www.leegallery.com/photographers/93-lewis-hine.html here is an example of someone who really expanded on that idea, by publicizing child labor.

  2. Garrett says:

    The boat picture is amazing. I can’t even believe that actually works. The way it snakes through that green mess is really neat. The other two photos, the second one is certainly my favorite. The caption is hilarious.

  3. Gretchen says:

    The boat picture is really cool. I agree that you can’t just look at one single person because the picture as a whole is what tells the story. I had a lot of trouble with this task mainly because I just never know what to search for. Awesome find!

  4. Claire says:

    are there any real narratives behind these pictures, i.e. who these people are and why they’re crossing a river on a line of boats. etc?

Leave a Reply

